New Investigator Awards


Up to one PSANZ New Investigator Award will be awarded in each of the following disciplines of the Society for best oral and best poster presentation.  

            • Neonatology
            • Obstetrics 
            • Neonatal Nursing
            • Midwifery
            • Discovery Science
            • Epidemiology / Public Health
            • Allied Health / other specialties or disciplines not included in any of the above 

Self-nomination for consideration for a NIA must be made at the time of abstract submission. 
Only 1 abstract from each applicant can be nominated for a NIA and this must be clearly identified at the time of abstract submission.


  • To be eligible for a PSANZ New Investigator Award, the applicant must:
  • be a PSANZ member at the time of presentation
  • be the presenter and first author of the abstract
  • be enrolled full- or part-time in an undergraduate or postgraduate degree; OR, within 5 years of receipt of a relevant degree; OR, within 5 years of first presentation of research findings at a national or international meeting
  • not have previously been awarded a PSANZ New Investigator Award
  • provide a contact email address for academic supervisor / mentor at the time of abstract submission.

Emails will be sent requesting confirmation of eligibility. 


  • Best Oral presentation in each discipline will receive $1000
  • Best Poster presentation in each discipline will receive $500

Winners of the New Investigator Awards will receive payment of the award into their account post event once they have filled in an Award Form which will include a brief summary of their research for the post congress newsletter and media purposes.

Note: if the New Investigator does not attend the Congress and the abstract is presented by a supervisor or senior author it will no longer be considered for the NIA. The original submitting author MUST notify as soon as they are aware they will not be presenting the abstract to ensure judges are not assigned inappropriately.

Awards will be announced on the final day of Annual PSANZ Congress